On Story: Frank Darabont (Pt. 2)

After a chaotic week of convocation and family visiting me in the Great White North (which has since melted into a luscious green wonderland), I finally had the opportunity to view this week’s episode of On Story. How lucky we are to live in a world where your favourite shows can be streamed online! As usual, the content was fascinating and gave insight to some of the most well-known films of our time. Frank Darabont has written and directed films holding a lot of clout in the industry. Surely, you’ve seen The Shawshank Redemption?

tumblr_n6znct4mcv1qzyyoio1_500

If you haven’t, I cannot reprimand you too extensively; as I was watching, I realized I have never seen The Mist. Based on the stories Darabont shared about Stephen King and his reaction to the ending of the film (which was altered from the novel), I think I will be adding The Mist to my “must-see” list. I have often wondered how authors feel when their stories are adapted and (sometimes, but rarely) improved from the original text. Does J.K. Rowling retch when she sees Bellatrix LeStrange light the Burrow on fire in the sixth movie? Actually, does she cringe throughout the entire sixth film?!

As always, On Story featured a short film following the interviews with Frank Darabont. Jeffrey Dechausse’s short film Anniversario was featured this week and I must say I have conflicted feelings. The two salon professionals were too campy and, spoiler alert, their behaviour caused me to wonder if the elderly woman had actually passed or if there would be a fairytale twist at the end. I did appreciate the message Dechausse was conveying in terms of letting those you love know how you feel about them before it is too late. Then again, that’s a story told many times and many ways…

Again, if you didn’t have the chance to watch this week’s episode of On Story, it is available online. I will be placing my On Story blogs on hold as it is time for the PBS Online Film Festival! Check back on Sunday for information on the festival and why this type of event is integral to our growing online culture and the significance of film within it.  Until then…

 

Leave a Reply

