On Story: Breaking Bad

There must be something terribly wrong with me because I am resistant to new television series. Most of the time, a series must end and I wait for the ripple effect of the show in conversation to see if it was just a fad or something worth my time. If you think I’m joking, I waited five years before I started watching Mad Men. However, this comes with its perks because then I can close the blinds and forget my life for a weekend amidst a season-a-day marathon. Forget cliffhangers and suspense, I need instant gratification.

So, this week On Story is focusing on a topic almost every single person I know will enjoy and something I know nothing about. I repeat: every single person I know better watch this. If you don’t, then all of your Facebook posts, tweets, and tumbls have been a lie — and you have wasted my time. I rummaged through your thoughts on this television series so much that I became irritated and refused to watch it. On Story is featuring Breaking Bad and its creator, Vince Gilligan. He will be discussing the inspirations and influences behind the television series (and I know, based on the topic of the show, they must be interesting).

Screen shot 2014-05-30 at 4.50.07 PM

This Sunday tune into Panhandle PBS at 5:30 to watch On Story and reminisce about one of your favourite shows of the new millennium. As homework for myself, I am watching the first few episodes of Breaking Bad in order relate to this episode of On Story and the rest of the world’s populace. I know I sound particularly unenthused, but I am curious to see what the fascination is with meth labs and why people felt the need to create their first and last names out of the Periodic Table of Elements. If you’re curious about my reaction (oh-ho-ho, punny!) to both Breaking Bad AND On Story, check back Monday afternoon for a Double Take!

Leave a Reply

