Academy Awards Postmortem

Ahh, the Oscars… so predictable, so typical. Even though some of my guesses were incorrect, none of the awards surprised me. None of the jokes were surprising either. In fact, the only shocking part of the evening was the negligence to cut off people for yammering on in their acceptance speeches and I know we could have all done without the second half of Matthew McConaughey’s heroic tribute to himself.. Speaking of heroism, what was the point of the heroic montage? Yet another reason to prolong the program past 4/5 of the country’s bedtime, I suppose.

Despite the predictability of the Oscars, there were multiple moments of praise. Ellen kept it classy and entertaining and I must say I’ve never been happier to see a film snubbed as heavily as American Hustle was on Sunday night. I love you, Amy Adams… but it didn’t cut the mustard for me. Of course, the crowning moment of my evening was the tribute to The Wizard of Oz introduced by Whoopi Goldberg donning her striped socks and ruby slippers. I teared up at the sight of Judy Garland’s three children cheering on the legend of their mother in her most well-known role. Hold onto your hats for my next statement: I actually thought P!nk did such a splendid job with “Over the Rainbow,” especially since she included the added line not sung in the film. But then I began to ponder… why just Oz? The year 1939 had many films to honour, including one of the highest grossing films of all time: Gone with the Wind. Anyhow, the tribute “seemed quite right,” as Miss Garland would say and I was overly impressed.

Evidently all of you who participated in Panhandle PBS’ Academy Awards Poll knew a thing or two about the selection process at the Oscars… you were almost spot on! (Sorry, but Jennifer Lawrence was not that great, guys… go see June Squibb in Nebraska.) Here are the results:

Best Picture: 12 Years A Slave

Best Actor: Matthew McConaughey

Best Actress: Cate Blanchett

Best Supporting Actor: Jared Leto

Best Supporting Actress: Jennifer Lawrence

Best Animated Feature: Frozen

I’m curious to hear your impressions of the Oscars. Did you like Ellen as a host? (Choose your answer wisely). Were you surprised by the results? And if fashion is your thing, who was the best and worst dressed? I promise I won’t berate or bite you. Also, thank you so much for reading my Road to the Oscars posts!

Next week I will be blogging on one of my favourite topics: comedy! If you’re into laughter, which I hope you are, check back soon. Until next time…

Leave a Reply

