Road to the Oscars: Conclusion

To wrap up my Road to the Oscars blog series, I watched two of the top contenders for different reasons. The first being American Hustle which seems to have a mixture of acclaim and outright boredom upon viewing. I went in with a narrow perspective based on the reviews I’ve heard and it may have influenced my own opinion. American Hustle was a massive disappointment, especially since David O’Russell is known for his attention to characters and the complete train wrecks in their day-to-day lives. The actors and actresses in this film are, theoretically, in their prime — namely Jennifer Lawrence and the hype surrounding her role in Silver Linings Playbook and The Hunger Games. I found every single one of the characters to be completely flat, without progression, and uninteresting. If I chose the outcome of the Academy Awards, I would not give the Oscar to the film, director, or any of the actors… and that’s hard for me to say because I love Amy Adams. For some reason, I feel American Hustle will win Best Picture over 12 Years a Slave (the other major disappointment of this past year for me). But isn’t that the way the cookie crumbles?

The second film viewed this week was Woody Allan’s Blue Jasmine and I thoroughly enjoyed the usual neuroses of an Allan film. As the film progressed, the plot seemed oddly familiar… and then I read it was loosely based on Tennessee Williams’ A Streetcar Named Desire. My entire opinion of Cate Blanchett’s performance changed when I discovered this about the film. In my mind, Cate was no longer being compared to Judi Dench, Amy Adams, Sandra Bullock, and the other contenders of 2013 films.. instead, she was up against one of the greatest actresses of all time: Vivien Leigh. Leigh won for her role in Streetcar, Blanche Dubois, at the 24th Academy Awards and undeniably deserved the award. I have never felt such remorse for someone who is neurotic and meant to be unsympathetic due to her sexual past. So, Cate Blanchett may be receiving an unfair comparison from me, but I feel she could have been better. That being said, I’m almost positive she will win the Oscar this year, even though I would love Dame Judi Dench to take home the Golden Boy.

At this point, I would like share my predictions and desires for the outcome of the 86th Academy Awards:

Best Picture
Who Should Win: Her
Who Will Win: American Hustle

Best Actor in a Leading Role
Who Should Win: Bruce Dern
Who Will Win: Chiwetel Ejiofor

Best Actress in a Leading Role
Who Should Win: Judi Dench
Who Will Win: Cate Blanchett

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Who Should Win: Jared Leto
Who Will Win: Jared Leto

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Who Should Win: June Squibb
Who Will Win: Lupita Nyong’o

Best Animated Feature
Who Should Win: Frozen
Who Will Win: Frozen

Best Cinematography
Who Should Win: Gravity
Who Will Win: Gravity

Best Directing
Who Should Win: Alfonso Cuarón
Who Will Win: Steve McQueen

If you haven’t had the chance, you should vote in Panhandle PBS’ poll on the Oscars and give your opinion! My next blog will be a review on the Academy Awards … but I think we all know it will be wonderful because of Ellen DeGeneres.

One comment

  1. Oh yea PRNG

Leave a Reply

