Preview—Pioneers of Television: Superheroes

On this week’s episode of Pioneers of Television, you’re likely to shout “holy smokes!” because the theme is Superheroes. Again, I will be “schooled” in an area where my interests are lacking. My only enjoyable experience with superheroes is quite pitiful, so I ask your forgiveness before I tell you this… but I loved Mermaid Man and Barnacle Boy from the television show Spongebob Squarepants. They’re old, washed-up superheroes living in a nursing home with dementia causing them to believe they are still, somehow, “super”!

Hopefully, the actors returning to television for PoT will not be gussied up in their spandex or behind masks. I know audiences will be happy to see appearances from Lynda Evans to Adam West as they discuss their experiences on television shows based around the lives of humans with supernatural abilities. The episode will explore the Superhero genre over four decades (beginning in the 1950s and ending with The Greatest American Hero in the 80s). I also wonder if the episode is relevant alongside the upswing of superhero themed films in the last ten years. Did they pave the way for Robert Downey Jr. and Toby Macguire?

Join me tonight at 7PM on KACV for another hour of knowledge, anecdotes, and behind the scenes info with the people who shaped the future of television! Pioneers of Television has yet to disappoint and I’m anxious to see how this episode pans out. Don’t forget to check back for a Double Take…

Leave a Reply

