Preview — Under the Streetlamp

In late 2008, I developed a deep appreciation for music during the Golden Era. I had just received my license six months prior and, frankly, I was going to listen to what I wanted to in my car. At the beginning of my driving career, my dad, being the kind gentleman that he is, agreed to pump my gas for me. For weeks, I heard no complaints until one day, he approached me and said, “I never thought… this would be a problem.” My heart sank. What had I done? Did I ruin the car?

I asked with a hopeful tone, “Is everything okay?”

My dad smiled, “I always wondered if my girls would listen to rap music or music with swearing… but I never thought I would get annoyed because of the Lollipop Guild.”

My brow furrowed, “What?”

He chuckled, “Every time I get into your car I hear from the Munchkins! We represent the Lollipop Guild. You know what I’m talking about!”

I realized I had been alternating between The Wizard of Oz soundtrack and the Glenn Miller Orchestra for a number of weeks. Even today, I have Judy at Carnegie Hall in my CD rotation and I still love the music from that era. The term “old soul” does not begin to describe how conflicted the youth of my body is with my taste in popular culture.

To say I was happy when I saw “Under the Streetlamp” on this week’s programming for KACV is an understatement. A quartet of the leading cast members from the musical “Jersey Boys” perform the hits of the 1940s to the 1960s. While their voices are a bit “modern” or (is it politically correct to say “postmodern”?) for my tastes, I do appreciate their effort to revive these songs for a generation that is so distant from an era of music that occurred less than a century ago.

Here’s a preview:

Join me on Wednesday night @ 10:30 on KACV for an hour of unforgettable classics and great talent. Remember, always check for a Double Take!

Leave a Reply

