Broadway or Bust: “And the winner is…”

What an upset! The producers of ‘Broadway or Bust’ certainly plucked my heartstrings until they snapped in this episode. I’m somewhat disappointed in their frame stories of the high schoolers; they should have given the top contenders’ interviews in equal amounts. Every fiber of my being was pulling for Brittany in the actress bracket because they spotlighted her in every episode over the other ladies. Even though I loved the judge’s final choice (and in case you haven’t seen the episode … SPOILER ALERT), Elizabeth Romero received minimal airtime and I didn’t have a lot of empathy and/or sympathy for her personality or future in show business. If they happen to recycle the program for another season, perhaps BoB should consider evening things out. This concludes my rant for the blog.

The final performances in this episode were the pinnacle of this series. Every lover of the Gay White Way would balance on the edge of their seats with hands clenched to their hearts. From Evan’s rendition of “Magic Foot” from The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee to Nicolette’s rendition of “I Hate Men” from Kiss Me Kate, I was astounded as each medley blended in perfect harmony… as if each song were penned to flow into one another from the very beginning. Elizabeth’s portrayal of Lola from the musical Damn Yankees placed her at the top of my list and Brittany’s voice diminished significantly as the show progressed. So, once it came down to the nitty-gritty, I was only surprised by Brittany’s absence in the final six contestants.

Last week, I did choose Josh to come out on top and I was ecstatic when he did! (Oops, another spoiler…) However, I found my loyalties leaning towards Drew after he comedically performed “Trouble” from The Music Man. If I were a judge, my biggest challenge would be deciphering true all-around talent against talent in a certain genre. Josh was amazing, but can he perform comedically? In the end, Drew proved he could be both the comedian and an actor to hold the audience’s attention with emotionality. Again, I’m not disappointed with the outcome… only speculating.

Elizabeth Romero. Oh, Elizabeth! This is a girl after my own heart. I love actresses who are capable of acting through facial gestures even whilst singing. To me, that’s true talent only few possess. Kristin Chenoweth — yes, I drop her name all the time… but can you blame me? — is the most “post-modern” example of this type of talent. Elizabeth’s comedy in her solo “Disneyland” from Smile stole my vote almost immediately and I would have been upset if the judges did not recognize the clear winner in her performance.

If you haven’t had a chance to watch ‘Broadway or Bust’, their website has the full episodes ready to stream! The show can be a bit too “reality TV”, but we all need something to turn off our minds and entertain.

Until next time…

One comment

  1. Adele Soulé · · Reply

    I totally agree with everything you stated, especially the first paragraph.

Leave a Reply

