“And the winner is…”

I don’t like the Super Bowl. I could sit here and type a blog about all of the reasons why I don’t like watching over-paid athletes ram into each other and chase a ball, but then I would be a hypocrite. Why? Well, I love The Academy Awards which consists of over-paid entertainers patting each other on the back for a job-well-done in filmmaking. And I guess I don’t love The Academy Awards anymore because two travesties have been committed this year against Hollywood history:

Grauman’s Chinese Theatre (you know, the one with all of the cool handprints?) is no longer called Grauman’s Chinese Theatre

AND

The Academy Awards are simply called The Oscars

Is there anything right in the world?!

Bette Davis and her Oscar for Jezebel (1938)

Bette Davis and her Oscar for Jezebel (1938)

The show may be filled with cheesy lines from horrible hosts (*cough*JamesFranco*cough*) and major upsets, but it’s still a fun night to witness — they’re entertainers, after all!

All I’ve heard around the Film Studies department is Argo, Argo, Argo. They should be careful because Jan Brady is starting to get jealous! If I was a betting woman, I would place my money on Argo for Best Picture. Steven Spielberg is up against Ang Lee for Best Director and my instincts tell me Lee will win for Best Director of Life of Pi. The film was composed gloriously. And if the Golden Globes determine the future of Best Actor or Actress, my vote goes to Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook) and Daniel Day Lewis (Lincoln). Daniel Day Lewis wins everything.

Who do you think will win and why? Let me know in the comments below.

If you have a chance before the Oscars, switch on KACV @5:30PM for a special Oscar episode of Just Seen It. Trust me, you’ll have plenty of time before they roll out the red carpet and start the fashion show!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

