Preview — LENNONYC

Prepare yourselves for another slight deviation from film commentary. However, I might add that the person I am speaking of in this blog has been in several films including A Hard Day’s Night, Help!, and Let it Be to name a few… No, it’s not Sir Paul McCartney and it’s definitely not good ol’ Ringo. The man of the hour is John Winston Ono Lennon. Tomorrow night, KACV will be airing LENNONYC from the American Masters series and guess who’s watching? This gal.

I’ll just get this out of the way right now, since you’re all wondering: my favourite Beatle is Paul. I think my parents raised me to be a Paul McCartney loving machine, and, heck, he is a brilliant and beautiful man (even at the ripe age of 70). That being said… I do believe John Lennon changed my life, as well. Whether or not you like his politics or his beliefs or the things he says, I think there is something to appreciate about his musical career.

Image from Lennon's "Walls and Bridges" album.

Image from Lennon’s “Walls and Bridges” album.

He was a Beatle, the Walrus, a Liverpudlian, a father, a bandmate, a beloved friend and his contribution to the history of rock and roll is unmatched. So, I encourage you to join me tomorrow night at 7PM on KACV to take a glimpse at John Lennon’s life and recording career while he was in NYC during the 1970s.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

